The V Foundation Announces New Scientific Advisory Board Members

Four new members join The V Foundation’s Scientific Advisory Board

(Cary, NC)  – The V Foundation for Cancer Research, one of the nation’s leading cancer research fundraising organizations, is pleased to announce the addition of four doctors to their Scientific Advisory Board.  The Scientific Advisory Board is comprised of some of the nation’s leading physicians and research scientists from prominent universities and cancer centers.  The Board ensures that all proposals meet the highest standards of scientific merit and that funding is properly allocated. 

“The V Foundation’s Advisory Board includes an exceptional group of leaders in cancer research who are focused on translating fundamental knowledge to more effective clinical practice,” said Dr. Robert Bast, Vice President for Translational Research at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center.  “Our new Board members will extend the depth and breadth of our ability to evaluate and prioritize applications for the many different awards funded by the V Foundation.”

The Scientific Advisory Board, which now consists of 20 members, ensures that funding is appropriately allotted to researchers seeking grants from The V Foundation.  It is compromised of some of the finest doctors in the country who are all experts in various fields of cancer research.  Each new board member is hand selected by a nominating committee, a subset of the Scientific Advisory Board.  Selections are based on their area of expertise and exemplary work.  The four new members of the Scientific Advisory Board have concentrations in neurology, urology, oncology and pediatric bone marrow. 

Brian P. O’Neill, M.D, is a neurologist from The Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota and directs a multi-disciplinary, inter- and intra-institutional translational research effort in Primary CNS Lymphoma.  In addition, Dr. O’Neill is a Professor of Neurology at the Mayo Medical School. 

William G. Nelson, M.D., Ph.D is the Marion I. Knott Professor of Oncology and Director of the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins.  He is also a Professor of Urology, Pharmacology, Medicine, Pathology, and Radiation Oncology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, with a Joint Appointment in Environmental Health Sciences at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Daniel D. Von Hoff, M.D., F.A.C.P., is the Physician in Chief and Director of Translational Research at TGen (Translational Genomics Research Institute) in Phoenix, Arizona as well as the Chief Scientific Officer for US Oncology and for Scottsdale Healthcare’s Clinical Research Institute.  In addition, he is the Clinical Professor of Medicine at the University of Arizona.

John D. Minna, A.B., M.D., is the Director at the Hamon Center for Therapeutic Oncology Research and Director of Molecular Therapeutics of Cancer Program at the Simmons Cancer Center UTSW.  Dr. Minna is a Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, Texas. 

To learn more about The V Foundation and to find out how you can get involved, call 919.380.9505 or visit

Contact: Caylan Ashworth
[email protected]

About The V Foundation for Cancer Research
The V Foundation for Cancer Research was founded in 1993 by ESPN and the late Jim Valvano, legendary North Carolina State basketball coach and ESPN commentator. Since 1993, The Foundation has raised more than $90 million to fund cancer research grants nationwide. It awards 100 percent of all direct cash donations and net proceeds of events directly to cancer research and related programs. The Foundation, which has received seven consecutive top 4-star ratings from Charity Navigator, awards grants through a competitive awards process strictly supervised by a Scientific Advisory Board. For more information on The V Foundation or to make a donation, please visit