The V Foundation for Cancer Research Awards 2012 V Scholars

The V Foundation for Cancer Research, one of the nation’s leading cancer research funding organizations, is proud to announce the recipients of the 2012 V Scholar grants. These two-year, $200,000 grants are being awarded to seventeen outstanding young researchers located in 14 states.  This $3.4 million initiative, which funds “rising star” physicians and scientists as they being their careers in cancer research, is an important and compelling component of The V Foundation’s overall grant objective. 

“The V Scholars are chosen from the best and brightest young cancer researchers across our country,” said Robert C. Bast, Jr., M.D., Vice President for Translational Research at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center and a member of the Scientific Advisory Board.  “We are investing in the careers of scientists whose discoveries will cure this large family of diseases.”   

V Scholars are selected through a competitive process conducted by the Foundation’s Scientific Advisory Board.  This stellar Board is composed of leading cancer specialists from around the country.  The V Scholar award funds specific research being conducted by the young investigator within their academic research center.  It provides the V Scholar with much-needed resources to help them advance their cutting-edge research and to strengthen their ability to receive additional grant funding throughout their careers.  

“Supporting cancer investigators early in their career not only advances specific research projects that are at the forefront of scientific discovery, “ said Susan Braun, CEO of The V Foundation.   “It also adds to the cadre of people dedicated to ending cancer.  We believe that the V Scholar grants are an investment in extraordinary people as well as in important research.  The benefits are lifelong.”

This year, the special designation of the Martin D. Abeloff Scholar Award, presented to the highest rated V Scholar, has been awarded to Monte M. Winslow, Ph.D., of the Stanford Cancer Institute.  Additionally, the Albert Wyrick V Scholar Award, funded by Michael and Carole Marks, has been given to Justin D. Lathia, Ph.D., of the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine.