Joseph O. Moore, M.D.

Medical Director, Duke Raleigh Cancer Hospital
Professor of Medicine, Duke University

Dr. Joseph Moore is the Medical Director for the Duke Raleigh Cancer Center and serves as a Professor of Hematology and Oncology at Duke Cancer Center. He is a recipient of the R. Wayne Rundles Award for Excellence in Cancer Research and was selected to appear in Woodward/White’s The Best Doctors in America. He is the author of numerous scientific articles and textbook chapters. Jim Valvano’s primary oncologist at Duke University Medical Center, he is an original member of the V Foundation Board of Directors.

Dr. Moore’s clinical focuses include acute and chronic myeloid and lymphoid leukemias, soft tissue and bone sarcomas, Hodgkin’s disease, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, ITP, hemolytic anemia and neuroendocrine tumors. His research interests include clinical research in the diagnosis and treatment of acute myeloid and lymphoid leukemias, malignant lymphoma, chronic myeloid and lymphoid leukemias, patient care and support programs and protocols, drug development and evaluation, soft tissue sarcoma, neuroendocrine tumors, carcinoid, delivery of continuing medical education and telemedicine Research Program in Malignant Lymphoma and the Lymphocytic Leukemias (Acute and Chronic). Dr. Moore serves as Duke’s principal investigator on a protocol for the investigation of Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL) designed to effect the first major change in induction therapy of this disease in the last 20 years.

Dr. Moore received his B.S. from Emory University and his M.D. from Johns Hopkins Hospital, where he completed his internal medicine residency. Moore arrived at Duke University as a Fellow in the Division of Hematology and Oncology in 1975.